the big sort out

I have always loved sorting, re-arranging, simplifying, organising. I would spend endless weekends alone in my room growing up working out new ways to arrange my room. I always have a charity bag on the go. Nick jokes that if I haven’t used the scissors in the past week, they’re in the charity bag ready to be donated.

So when I read through Marie Kondo’s ‘The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying’ during a jet lagged sleepless night it awoke a new beast within me. This was where my journey into simple living started.

The ‘KonMari’ method involves sorting through your stuff category by category with the aim that by living with less; just the essentials, you free yourself up to invest into the things that really matter.

And so I started working towards my goal of living with less. 10 months later I’m still going but have found it such a liberating journey. It has challenged my mindset, changed the way I shop and awoken a new creativity within me.

A few lessons I’ve learnt so far:

  • Go through everything. EVERYTHING. Don’t overlook something just because you’ve always had it. Ask yourself if you LOVE it, does it ‘spark joy’ as Marie Kondo suggests you ask.
  • If you’re sorting through a certain category, collect all the books for example that you have. All of them, because chances are they don’t all live on your bookshelf, they might be some near your bed, in the bathroom or on the counter tops. Then only put back the ones that you love onto the shelf. With the others that you’re not so sure about store away for a bit. Enjoy living with less without the commitment of throwing everything out, yet. If you haven’t needed it or even noticed its absence then donate it.
  • Challenge yourself to live without something for a week. See if there are new creative ways you can do what that object/thing does.
  • One in, one out rule. Always.
  • Don’t rush it. Enjoy the process and have fun with it.

Does chucking stuff out give you a thrill? Or is it just me?! How far is too far? Have you read Marie Kondo’s book? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Snippets from our home, the things that have managed to survive the big sort out, so far…

IMG_0430

IMG_0433

IMG_0432

IMG_0431

 

 

2 thoughts on “the big sort out

Leave a Reply

